Started in 2012. Like the original winter competition the Summer Grand Prix aims to motivate club members to race through the summer months, especially where team, as well as individual, performance is important.

3 divisions each for men and women.

15 points for first finisher down to 5 points. All finishers get at least 5 points

MidWeek League races are the top priority fixtures and will get double points. 30 max down to 10 for all.

ELVIS races are next in importance. In addition to the finish position points you will get bonus points according to the number of ELVIS races you have done. eg if it’s your 4th ELVIS race you will have 4 bonus points added.

2nd Claim Members are included when wearing Orion colours

All races count – some you have to enter yourself on-line

The competition aims to encourage club members to race regularly, especially where team, as well as individual, performance is important.

Key fixtures are the Chingford League and Essex League races, and especially the three traditional mob matches against Blackheath, Ranelagh, and South London Harriers. Double points are awarded for away mob matches, reflecting their key role in the club’s history.

The format of the Grand Prix has evolved over the years, and has recently been expanded to reflect the growing importance of the Essex League. Formerly the best 8 from 10 races would count. Then best 10 from 15. Current season (2015-16) best 10 from 16 count!

Top 3 runners are promoted from lower divisions. Bottom 3 (point scorers) are relegated in addition to runners who do not race at all in the season who are relegated 2 divisions.

Second claim tables are based on a smaller number of races, since many runners are representing their First Claim club in Chingford and Essex League races.

Summer Grand Prix 2019 Season

The final standings

Summer Grand Prix 2019 Final Tables

Congratulations to Division winners

Men Div1         Brian Jenkins

Women Div 1 Pippa Dowswell

Men Div 2      Grant Corton

Women Div 2  Andrea Macqueen

Men Div 3  Thomas Grimes

Women Div 3  Claire Huggins

Winter Grand Prix 2018-19 Season

New this year – Best 10 from 18 count. – For men 3 promoted but 4 relegated.

Final tables with winners, promotions and relegations shown.

Grand Prix Tables 2018-19 Final

Summer Grand Prix 2018 Season

New format this year.  A move to divisions, which will have promotion/relegation similar to the winter GP.

Placing runners into 3 divisions from scratch is clearly a bit subjective, but some fairly ruthless promotion and relegation procedures should see 3 competitive divisions for both men and women emerge in future summers.

Division placings were guided by the 1st 2 MidWeek League races, which attract fairly big, early season numbers. I deliberately kept over 50s out of Division 1 for this first year even if MWL position suggested otherwise.  The cream will rise!

All 20 races count!

The final standings

Summer Grand Prix 2018 Final

Congratulations to Division winners

Men Div1         Brian Jenkins

Women Div 1 Alison Taylor

Men Div 2      Dan (Mr Everpresent) Green

Women Div 2  Frances Wilson

Men Div 3  Chris Chapman

Women Div 3  Andrea Macqueen

Winter Grand Prix 2017-18 Season

Race 11 done (Race 8 was cancelled). Best 10 from 16 (15) count. Here are the table toppers of the 8 Grand Prix divisions after Race 11.

Next race – Mob Match v Ranelagh Harriers (away) – Saturday 3rd February

10 races done and 1 cancelled


2017 Summer Grand Prix

Final Tables  Summer Grand Prix 2017

Sen/W35 Women

Ladies Captain sets the pace

Alison Taylor

Leads team in 13/19 summer races

Sen/M40 Men

Mens Captain bags another GP trophy

Brian Jenkins

Completed 17/19 summer races

W45/W55 Women

Champion saves her best til last

Pippa Dowswell

W45 silver at Essex Half Marathon Champs

M50/M60 Men

Orion's most frequent summer racer

Danny Fitzsimons

Just one GP race missed all summer

Winter season Grand Prix 2017-8

Next  Race Tuesday 7th November

Chingford League  Race 3 Hog Hill

Winter Season 2016-17


Champs and Chumps

Final Standings

Summer GrandPrix 2016

Congratulations to table toppers

Matt Woodman

Alison Taylor

Grant Corton

Pippa Dowswell

Grand Prix Tables 2015-16

The Final Countdown for the Winter Season